The Russell S. Reynolds, Jr. 
Chair of the Year Award

RSR Partners recently announced the establishment of the Russell S. Reynolds, Jr. Chair of the Year Award. The award will annually recognize the Chair of a public company’s Board of Directors that has successfully led the board through significant business or governance challenges. The award celebrates the legacy of Russell S. Reynolds, Jr. (“Russ”), who has spent more than 50 years advising boards and CEOs on leadership and governance.

The role Chairs play in shaping the success and direction of organizations continues to rise in importance. The vision and strategic acumen Chairs provide to guide and inspire boards and management teams is instrumental in driving long-term growth and sustainable success. However, the value great Chairs deliver to their boards, management, and companies is not always entirely visible or appreciated by stakeholders. This award was created to recognize the impact great public company Chairs have on helping their companies get one step closer to their aspirational goals.

The nomination period began in early August and closed in September 2023. The inaugural winner will be announced in October at RSR Partners’ Annual Directors Dinner in New York City.

The nominations will be evaluated by an independent committee that will determine this year’s finalists and winner. The winner of the award will be chosen by an independent committee comprised of renowned experts in the areas of strategy, finance, strategic communications, shareholder activism defense, investment management, human capital consulting, and corporate governance. The committee includes:

Mikaela Boyd
Americas Strategy Practice Head of Bain & Company

Nik Deogun
CEO of the Americas of Brunswick Group

Ed Kangas
Former Global Chairman and CEO of Deloitte

Kim Lew
President and CEO of Columbia Investment Management

Christie Smith
Former Talent & Organization/Human Potential Global Lead of Accenture

Brett Stephens
CEO of RSR Partners

Should you have any questions or require further information, please do not hesitate to reach out to our team, Greg Lau and Anna McMurchy.

About Russ

Russell S. Reynolds, Jr.

Russell S. Reynolds, Jr. (“Russ”) is an American business executive, author, and founder of two of the search industry's most prominent firms. Considered one of the pioneers of today's executive search profession, Russ has counseled the chairmen, presidents, and chief executive officers of many of the world's leading companies over the past 50 years.

In 1969, he founded Russell Reynolds Associates, which soon became one of the world’s leading international executive recruiting firms. Russ sold his interest in the firm in 1993. In 1994, Russ founded the Directorship Group (later named RSR Partners), where he served as Founder and Chairman until 2022. Russ is now Chairman Emeritus of RSR Partners.

Prior to entering the search business, he was a lending officer at J.P. Morgan & Co. He has been a speaker before such groups as the American Society of Corporate Secretaries, The Conference Board, and the President’s Dinner in Washington, DC. Russ also has been featured on the Today Show, The CBS Evening News, and in a BBC documentary.

He is a former trustee of the Oppenheimer Mutual Funds, where he served as a member of the Governance and Audit Committees, and he is a life trustee of International House. He is a trustee of The Mary Rose Trust in London, a fundraising organization involved in the raising of the Mary Rose, the flagship of Henry VIII, which sank in 1545. He is also a trustee of Christ Church of Dark Harbor in Islesboro, Maine and a former trustee of the Mystic Seaport Museum. Russ served as chairman of the George H. W. Bush for President Finance Committee in Connecticut and of the Connecticut Republican Finance Committee. He has served on the board of the Foreign Policy Association and on the Development Committee of the Smilow Cancer Hospital at Yale. Russ is a former director of the Manhattan Christian Academy in New York City. Russ graduated from Yale University and was President of the Yale Glee Club and a Whiffenpoof. He previously served as Secretary of his Class.



Click here to nominate a Chair for the award.